Five Awards for The Lowry at Manchester Theatre Awards

The Lowry had a very successful afternoon at the glittering Manchester Theatre Awards ceremony, held at the Royal Exchange on Friday, coming away with no fewer than FIVE awards!



The Manchester Theatre Awards honour achievements in the performing arts at venues across Greater Manchester, from large theatres such as The Lowry, the Royal Exchange and Palace and Opera House to the many smaller fringe and pub venues in the city. The Lowry won awards across five categories, including Best Visiting Production for the National Theatre’s War Horse and Best Newcomer for Freya Sutton who stole the show in Hairspray! Winning awards across a wide range of theatre genres cements The Lowry’s reputation for bringing the finest performers and companies from the UK and around the world to Salford. Overall, the panel had selected almost 100 nominations across 20 categories, reminding us of the wealth of world-class performing arts available on our doorstep here in Greater Manchester.

There was a special announcement made in honour of The Lowry’s late Artistic Director Robert Robson. Robert had a true passion for dance and worked tirelessly to develop The Lowry’s dance offer into what it is today – the most ambitious dance programme outside of London. The Manchester Theatre Awards’ panel have now renamed their annual Best Dance Production Award The Robert Robson Award for Dance . This is such a fitting tribute; not only to Robert’s remarkable achievements in bringing the finest dance from all over the world to the region, but also to his development of The Lowry’s extensive dance training and outreach programmes as part of his commitment to supporting the next generation of professional dancers.

The Lowry’s late Artisitc Director, Robert Robson 


The full list of Manchester Theatre Awards won by The Lowry:

Best Actress in a Visiting Production – Catherine Kinsella (Rutherford and Son)

Best Visiting Production – War Horse

Opera – Otello (Opera North)

Robert Robson Award for Dance – Michael Clark Triple Bill

Best Newcomer – Freya Sutton (Hairspray)

Leave a Reply